Southlight is the Tasmanian-based house music project of Andrew Young and Damien Goundrie.


Southlight’s music reflects broad influences - from disco to techno, soulful to electronic.


Returning from the Sydney dance music scene where they played Parklife, headlined NYE at Cafe Del Mar, Hed Kandi, Goldfish, Ivy (to name a few), Southlight have returned to their studios in the wilds of Tassie. 


Southlight’s debut original track was “What I Need” - released in May 2013 on Sydney underground label, Glass Wax Records. 


"What I Need" was followed by 2 original singles in 2014 - "Element" - featuring the vocals of Australian songstress Katie Underwood, and "Night 2 Day" - featuring the vocals of rising soul star, Michael Duchesne.


Both these singles were signed to Discopolis Recordings and have featured on multiple compilations including UK Ministry of Sound’s "Hed Kandi - The Mix 2015".


In April 2015 Southlight released a Nu Disco powerhouse, "You + I" (feat. Nathan Mahon) which reached #1 on the Kiss FM chart (Melbourne). "You + I" was followed in August 2015 with another #1 chart topper, "Love & Money" - featuring the vocals of Australian Soul and funk star, Kylie Auldist.




2016 saw the release of 3 new Southlight tracks - "Hypnotize Me (feat. Cìrukè)", "Golden" and the instrumental, "Synth City”. That year was followed by a busy 2017 where the duo released a pop-flavoured electronica single “Ride it Out (feat. Cassandra Kemp)” and funked-up house track, “Deep Inside”.


With the return to Tassie in 2018, Southlight completed their debut album - which was released in October 2019. Featuring the singles, "Love and Happiness", "I'm Feeling" and "You + I", the debut album is in the tradition of multi-genre classic dance albums of the past (eg Groove Armada, Basement Jaxx) and reflects Southlight's eclectic influences, writing and production skills - from house and disco to techno and electronica.

In addition to these original tracks, the duo are also known for their dirty bootlegs including “Ain’t Nobody”, “Under Pressure",  “Keep Hope Alive” and "New Sky".



© 2023 by BLACK BARBY